TriOne Triathlon Race Report

trione.jpgAugust 21, 2005
Olympic Distance (1500m swim, 40km bike, 10k run)

Bib #68
Total Time: 2:42:31
Overall Rank: 68/171

Swim: 0:32:05 (34:30 mile pace)
Bike: 1:19:14 (18.8 mph)
Run: 0:51:12 (8:15 mile pace)

Well, today was the last race for me for this season – what a way to cap it off! The TriOne Triathlon was a great event, held over in Alameda. I managed to set a personal best (not hard considering it’s only my second triathlon) – I knocked 23 minutes off of my time at Wildflower! Granted, this course was much easier, but I was still quite happy with the time I turned in.

The swim was in the bay (water temp was about 64 degrees) right off the Alameda Ferry terminal. I must say that a wetsuit makes a HUGE difference – compared to the Roughwater Swim, this was a piece of cake! The one unique challenge to the swim leg was the current. We started our wave at 9:16am, and high tide was at 11am, so the current was actually pretty stiff. Navigating the buoys was tricky – getting to the first buoy you had to sight about 30 degrees to the right, or the current would push you away from it and you’d have to swim back against the current to get to it – I watched the first couple waves do this and learned from them! There was also a big stretch swimming directly into the current where you hardly felt like you were making any progress. But after two loops, we were done & out.

The transitions worked pretty smoothly this time, and I really took it out hard on the bike. This is where I dropped the most time from my last race – nearly 20 minutes. The bike course was a flat, fast, three loop course out near the Oakland Airport. Nothing remarkable to report, but I managed to keep a good, solid cadence throughout the three loops.

The run also worked pretty well this time. The course was an out-and-back run right along the bay, with some really nice views of San Francisco to distract everyone from the pain šŸ™‚ I had a dismal 1st mile – about 9:30 – coming off the bike. I hadn’t done nearly enough brick workouts recently so was a bit out of practice with this. But I picked up the pace significantly throughout, running my last mile in about 7:15 which I was happy with. I was a bit worried about my knee but it held up throughout the race.

All in all, it was a great race, a fun Sunday, and an exciting way to close out the season!

~ by Nathan on August 21, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
