2007 Catfish Open Water Swim

This Sunday I raced in the Catfish Open Water Swim, held in Stevens Creek Reservoir. This was my first 2.4-mile race! I was pretty excited to do it – the Catfish swim has been around for a number of years and is always pretty popular, but I hadn’t done the race before. I swam in Stevens Creek Reservoir with Team in Training earlier this year, so I at least knew the water was clean (unlike Lake Almaden which is basically a tub of goose poop.)

All in all the race went quite well! I ended up finishing 4th in my age group, finishing in 1:03:22. I was 14th overall. Not bad! I’ll definitely be back next year. J&A Productions put on a great race with some fun entertainment and good organization.

They actually have a 1.2 mile and 2.4 mile swim at the race (you basically do either 1 or 2 loops around the reservoir.) Here’s everyone at the starting line, getting ready for the 1.2 mile swim:

The finish line:

The most incredible performance had to go to this 40-something Navy Seal. He took off on the 1.2 mile swim and never looked back, finishing easily 3 or 4 minutes ahead from the next competitor. But then, he jumped right back in and swam the 2.4 mile swim immediately afterward – and won that event as well!

~ by Nathan on July 24, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
