Folsom International Triathlon Race Report (2007)

Folsom (out by Sacramento, for those of you – like me – who are geographically challenged) played host to the Folsom International Triathlon last weekend. It was also the Northern California Club Championship for local triathlon clubs – and my team (TRIbe) was out in force!

This was my fourth triathlon, my third Olympic distance. Here were my race stats:

Olympic Distance (1500m swim, 40k bike, 10k run)
Bib #159

Swim: 25:35
T1: 02:14
Bike: 01:15:35
T2: 01:26
Run: 49:02
TOTAL: 02:33:54

I was really happy with the results of this race – I set a new personal record for me, knocking 8 minutes off of my previous best time (at TriOne in 2005) – and on a harder course!

I finished right in the middle of my age group – almost literally at the 50% mark – which is about where I’ve been for the last couple of years. I’ve always known my bike leg was my achilles heel, but Dave LeRoy (a fellow Tribe member) runs bayareatri.com as a hobby, and they have some great stats that really tell you what’s going on with your race. Here is the most interesting chart – it basically shows you the place you’re in in your age group at the end of each leg. (My age group had 60 racers in it.)

So what you can see here is that I was in 10th place after the swim, lost a full 7 places getting out of my wetsuit and onto my bike (yikes!) but really lost time & place on the bike. I managed to hold my position throughout my run, which was good… but still, that’s a steep drop on the bike! (I knew this was what was happening – in triathlon, they write your age on the back of your left calf… so whenever you get passed you can see how old the person is that’s sailing by.) Here’s how my pacing broke down compared to my age group:

Swim pace 1:42 /100m [compared to age group: 0:18 /100m (faster)]
Bike pace 19.7 mph [compared to age group: 0.9 mph (slower)]
Run pace 7:53 /mile [compared to age group 0:05 /mile (faster)]

All in all, J&A Productions put on a great event. I’ll definitely be back next year! But I have to say that the best part about being a part of Tribe at these events: the post-race massage. Yep, that’s right – my team actually hires a sports massage therapist to man the tent after the race, and you can sign up for a post-race massage for free as you finish the race (first come, first served… so it definitely incents you to get done with your race quickly!) Now *that’s* a nice perk – I didn’t see any other teams doing it at this event.

We’re waiting for the final results of the Club Championship to see if Tribe will take home 1st place – we had a lot of great athletes out there and have an excellent shot at winning the event!

In any case, I’ve got one more triathlon – Santa Cruz Sentinel – in September, and then it’s the long training period into December when I’ll run the California International Marathon!

~ by Nathan on August 18, 2007.

One Response to “Folsom International Triathlon Race Report (2007)”

  1. […] Folsom International Triathlon Race Report (2007) https://netter.wordpress.com/2007/08/18/folsom-international-triathlon-race-report-2007/ […]

Leave a Reply

 
