San Jose Rock ‘n’ Roll 1/2 Marathon

This past Sunday, a group of about 30 intrepid eBay runners banded together to run the San Jose Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon. I decided to take a break from triathlons this fall, and joined the crew to see what my standalone half-marathon time would be like. We got together before the race to take a group photo. At that point, one of the bands was marching by and saw us taking our photo – and decided to run over and join in! Here’s the eBay team with “California Repurcussions”:

All in all I was pretty happy with my race. I had a goal of doing under 1:55, and my “stretch” target was 1:45. Here’s where I ended up:

Final time: 1:47
Pace: 8:14
5K split: 25:39
10K split: 51:15

And here’s how it looked on my Garmin:

 

The pace is in blue, heart rate in red. All in all I’m pretty happy with how this looks – aside from the water stops (the spikes in the blue line) you can see I kept my pace relatively constant after the first few miles (weaving in & out of all the people slowed me down in the beginning.)

Now, Elite Racing, who put on the event, has a scoring system they use called “Age Graded Scoring.” You get a percentage based on your performance. Here’s how it goes:

  • 100% = Approximate World Record Level
  • 90-99% = World Class
  • 80-89% = National Class
  • 70-79% = Regional Class
  • 60-69% = Local Class

I was, of course, curious to see how I did within my age group. Sadly, I had a 55%. Which I guess equates to the:

  • 50-59% = “You’re so slow you don’t even rate a line on our chart” Class

Oh well – at least I have a good goal for next year… make it to “Local Class!”

~ by Nathan on October 15, 2007.

One Response to “San Jose Rock ‘n’ Roll 1/2 Marathon”

  1. Congrats! With that kind of a time, you need to come out running with Mike and I (although, now I’m afraid we’ll get shown up by a triathlete 🙂 Next year, I’m going to bug you about running The Relay http://www.therelay.com

Leave a Reply

 
