Into the Wild

into_the_wild.jpg It’s funny how hearing a song on the radio can lead you into unexpected places. I’d heard the song “Hard Sun” on KFOG a few times before it finally dawned on me who the artist was – Eddie Vedder (of Pearl Jam.) How could I have mistook that distinct voice for someone else?
What I didn’t realize – and only recently learned – is that this song is only one in a remarkable soundtrack for the movie Into the Wild. Currently being lauded as one of the best films in 2007, this screenplay is adapted from the book about the life of Christoper McCandless, a young man who recently graduated from college, but turned his back on a materialistic society, giving all his possessions to charity and heading off into the Alaskan wilderness. 4 months later, his emaciated body was found in an old VW bus in the middle of an Alaskan forest. Eddie Vedder was asked by Sean Penn (who directed the film) to record the soundtrack, and I think this is actually the first *soundtrack* I’ve listened to that has compelled me to see the film.
Vedder does an incredible job bringing his listeners into the place where Christopher must have been as he looked at the world around him. Both lyrics and accompanying music (mostly on acoustic instruments, and most of which Vedder played himself) are both written and performed very well. The jaded outlook, the loneliness, the separation, and – in songs like “Rise” – the hope of a more rewarding life and future – are palpable in the music.
If you like Eddie Vedder, I’d highly recommend you buy the soundtrack – it’s available on iTunes, of course. And I’ll be back with a review of the book and the movie after I’ve had a chance to give them a look… I’ll leave with the lyrics to one of the more poignant songs from the soundtrack:

Society

It’s a mistery to me
we have a greed
with which we have agreed

You think you have to want
more than you need
until you have it all you won’t be free

society, you’re a crazy breed
I hope you’re not lonely without me

When you want more than you have
you think you need
and when you think more than you want
your thoughts begin to bleed

I think I need to find a bigger place
‘cos when you have more than you think
you need more space

society, you’re a crazy breed
I hope you’re not lonely without me
society, crazy and deep
I hope you’re not lonely without me

there’s those thinking more or less less is more
but if less is more how you’re keeping score?
Means for every point you make
your level drops
kinda like its starting from the top
you can’t do that…

society, you’re a crazy breed
I hope you’re not lonely without me
society, crazy and deep
I hope you’re not lonely without me

society, have mercy on me
I hope you’re not angry if I disagree
society, crazy and deep
I hope you’re not lonely without me

~ by Nathan on January 1, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
