Racing to find a cure… Leukemia & Lymphoma Society

tnt_20_years.gifHello readers,

It’s that time of year again! The winter solstice has passed, the days are getting longer… and triathlon season is upon us!

Last year some of you readers may recall that I raced the Wildflower Half Ironman triathlon with Team in Training, on behalf of the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. This year, I’m doing it again – and I’m blogging to ask for your support! I’m committed this year to breaking my time last year – I will attempt to finish the race (touted as the “most difficult Half Ironman in the world”) in under 6 hours 30 minutes. This race is a 1.2 mile swim, followed by a 56 mile bike ride, topped off by a half-marathon (13.1 miles.)

Why am I doing this again? Leukemia or lymphoma strikes over 10,000 Americans each year – and kills over half of them. Here are some more sobering statistics: Every five minutes, someone new is diagnosed with blood cancer. Every 10 minutes, someone dies. Leukemia causes more deaths than any other cancer among children and young adults under the age of 20. But research can change the outlook for patients. From 1960 to today, the five-year survival rates for acute lymphocytic leukemia (the most common form of childhood leukemia) have improved from an appalling 4% to 80%. Improvements continue to be made every year, with research funded in part by the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.

Continuing this research takes money… and that’s where you come in! I’d like to ask for your support, and for a donation to the Society for my training and my race. One of the great statistics of TNT is that at least 75% of all donated dollars goes directly to support scientists, physicians, educators, and patients. Your donation is 100% tax-deductible and supports research, patient services and educational programs. Every little bit helps bring us one step closer to a cure!

Please join me in donating to this important cause. You can do it online, and all you need is a credit card. Here is the link to donate:

http://www.active.com/donate/tntsvmb/tntsvmbNEtter3

I appreciate anything you can do to contribute! I’ll certainly be blogging as my training progresses, and I’ll write up a recap of the race once I’ve crossed the finish line!

Thanks,
Nathan

~ by Nathan on February 6, 2008.

One Response to “Racing to find a cure… Leukemia & Lymphoma Society”

  1. Great, kinda awesome topic. I will write about it likewise!!

Leave a Reply

 
